Skip to content
Wolverhampton Counts — Wolverhampton, in numbers.Local help →

Wolverhampton · England

People and living standards

Wolverhampton council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Wolverhampton

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Wolverhampton local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 248,466 in 1991 to 281,434 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Wolverhampton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 245,162 people in 1996; 281,434 people in 2025. 14.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Wolverhampton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991248,466
1992247,902
1993247,285
1994245,186
1995244,900
1996245,162
1997242,856
1998242,015
1999240,691
2000239,537
2001238,016
2002239,088
2003239,851
2004240,567
2005241,647
2006242,889
2007243,910
2008245,349
2009246,016
2010247,640
2011249,852
2012251,444
2013252,358
2014254,351
2015256,127
2016258,305
2017260,648
2018262,474
2019263,519
2020263,123
2021264,260
2022268,886
2023275,074
2024280,541
2025281,434
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Wolverhampton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 52,796 people in 1996; 59,537 people in 2025. 12.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Wolverhampton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199152,974
199253,359
199353,621
199453,436
199553,086
199652,796
199752,114
199851,671
199951,128
200050,474
200149,366
200249,110
200348,953
200448,687
200548,709
200648,656
200748,562
200848,750
200948,740
201049,014
201149,538
201250,074
201350,461
201451,439
201552,063
201653,002
201753,943
201854,768
201955,299
202055,359
202155,421
202256,643
202358,181
202459,418
202559,537
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Wolverhampton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 152,502 people in 1996; 176,323 people in 2025. 15.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Wolverhampton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991156,601
1992155,530
1993154,435
1994152,358
1995152,297
1996152,502
1997150,831
1998150,268
1999149,679
2000149,240
2001148,613
2002149,803
2003150,737
2004151,760
2005152,870
2006154,292
2007155,376
2008156,421
2009156,777
2010157,963
2011159,549
2012159,958
2013160,010
2014160,646
2015161,520
2016162,467
2017163,706
2018164,586
2019164,680
2020164,292
2021165,245
2022168,035
2023172,274
2024176,052
2025176,323
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Wolverhampton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 39,864 people in 1996; 45,574 people in 2025. 14.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Wolverhampton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199138,891
199239,013
199339,229
199439,392
199539,517
199639,864
199739,911
199840,076
199939,884
200039,823
200140,037
200240,175
200340,161
200440,120
200540,068
200639,941
200739,972
200840,178
200940,499
201040,663
201140,765
201241,412
201341,887
201442,266
201542,544
201642,836
201742,999
201843,120
201943,540
202043,472
202143,594
202244,208
202344,619
202445,071
202545,574
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 263,726 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wolverhampton · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh55,90121.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African24,6369.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups14,0655.3%
White159,70760.6%
Other ethnic group9,4173.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 249,470 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wolverhampton · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White169,68268%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups12,7845.1%
Asian/Asian British44,96018%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British17,3096.9%
Other ethnic group4,7351.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 236,582 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wolverhampton · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White184,04477.8%
Mixed6,4412.7%
Asian/Asian British33,87014.3%
Black/Black British10,8744.6%
Chinese/Other1,3530.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 28.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Wolverhampton council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,774 per person in 1997; £18,493 per person in 2024. 110.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Wolverhampton council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,774
19989,017
19999,427
20009,762
200110,104
200210,279
200310,468
200410,725
200510,837
200611,086
200711,474
200811,764
200912,157
201012,219
201112,278
201212,509
201312,812
201413,280
201513,799
201614,201
201714,417
201814,743
201915,278
202015,577
202116,238
202216,889
202317,614
202418,493
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Wolverhampton council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -17.3% in 1997; -28.8% in 2024. 11.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Wolverhampton council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-17.3
1998-16.7
1999-16.7
2000-18
2001-18.3
2002-18.8
2003-19.7
2004-21
2005-22.9
2006-24.3
2007-25.2
2008-25.3
2009-24.1
2010-24.3
2011-24.6
2012-25.9
2013-26.9
2014-26.6
2015-27.5
2016-26.3
2017-26.8
2018-27.8
2019-27.5
2020-25.8
2021-25.7
2022-26.5
2023-28
2024-28.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

24.4%

21 March 2021 · Wolverhampton local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

25.3%

21 March 2021 · Wolverhampton local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.3%

21 March 2021 · Wolverhampton local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£221,000

July 2026 · Wolverhampton local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£945

August 2026 · Wolverhampton local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.